WHY I’M VEGETARIAN

 

FB_IMG_1500061331067

I’m not a nutritionist, nor an historian , nor an environmental scientist. I’m just a young girl , and these are my reasons. I won’t upload scientific researches and studies or datas  -go search for them elsewhere.

 

PERSONAL REASONS

Paleolitico02.jpg

Yeah, mankind evolved even thanks to meat. In fact,  40 000 years ago I wouldn’t have been vegetarian.

But nowadays, nowadays we can safely live without eating animals -actually, our modern lifestyle gets only benefit from vegetarianism.

Here’s why, after the awareness that my daily life was depending on dozens of other animals’deaths , I decided I would have quit eating animals and their death-involving derivatives.

ALL THIS BASES ON AN IMPORTANT CONVICTION :

FB_IMG_1499859813701

All living beings’existences are potentially equal. We humans don’t own the cosmos, nor we are superior. No god above prefers us,since god is an human invention.

But as an animal, I try to preserve animals like me, and so I eat vegetables, whose death it’s not usually required when taking their fruits or their parts for eating. Even for this reason I eat not-death-involving animal derivatives. I believe that sustainable livestock is possible, regarding the animals’ dignity. It’s like a covenant, in which we give them shelter and food, and animals (left in free areas, not cages) give us eggs (anyway produced) , milk (modern cows now have to be milled for they’ve evolved to be so) and honey.

Obviously this is a theoretical covenant, but I’m pretty sure that livestocks this way are sustainable.

My man tells me that animals would eat me if they could : yeah but we gave the gift of choice. Especially in this era, we can live without eating meat or fish.

modern-world-caricature-illustrations-steve-cutts-10

MY DIET

I eat everything except for dead animals, so : vegetables, fruit, pasta, cereals, milk, cheese, eggs, honey, tofu, seitan, tempeh …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Before starting my diet, I consulted a nutritionist that gave me some healthy advice , AND EVERYONE SHOULD DO IT BECAUSE SELF-MADE EATING PLANS ARE  W R O N G  AND DANGEROUS.

So, I start my day with a rich breakfast , consisting of milk, cereals and crackers with Nutella.

Launch consists of a main course (pasta /seitan /tofu /egg /cheese ) + a lot of vegetables + fruit.

Dinner is pretty the same, except for I theoretically should eat less than launch.

 

EFFECTS ON MY BODY

I EAT A LOT, and I’m quite slim. It was different when I wasn’t vegetarian , I had to eat less to stay in shape.

I donate blood, so really my parameters are fine. I’m really in good health.

My pimples totally disappeared, and that’s soooo great. Even my sweat has turnes less acid , and I smell better (I suppose it to be thanks to not introducing meat hormones anymore).

 

LIVING AMONG OMNIVOROUSES

It’s been one year and a half now since I’ve made the choice (I made it when I came of age, 18). No one in my family is vegetarian, nor my friends, and my man isn’t. So, it always happens I eat my stuff while my tablemates eat theirs.

bmd
Me and my man went to a Thai restaurant. Here’s coconut soup with vegetables (I asked not to put shrimps).

Since I’m not vegan and I eat derivatives, it’s very easy to me to find food and I’ve never been in difficulty. Even in New York, I could find street food thanks to felafels-selling stalls.

Felafel.jpg
Falafel : vegetables meatballs

DO I DREAM ABOUT MEAT AT NIGHT?

No. Researches read 84% vegetarians return back now or later, but I’m very sure of my choice. I liked meat flavour so much, but I don’t go munching ham while no one is watching. It’s a surrender that can easily be done if someone is certain of his choice.

 

OTHER FIELDS : my vegetarian ethic

FB_IMG_1501277837309.jpg

 

I try my best to avoid death-involving animal derivatives in my life , such as leather or fur, and for this reason I always ask before buying clothes.

But I do larp , and (for who knows) , in larping costumes (footwear especially) leather is required. And for this reason, I can’t but turn a blind eye. The alternative would have been not to larp. Of course, when choosing costumes, I try to leave leather as last chance.

I use wool, since does not involve killing. Of course in the theory, the process should be animal-respectful.

HOT ISSUE : ANIMAL TESTING. Well, I utterly support that FOR medical purposes (for both animals or humans medicines) AND NOT for shallow ones , as beauty skin creams & co.